Electric Ireland MHC: Tipp edge out Galway

Electric Ireland MHC Semi-Final

Tipperary 1-24 Galway 0-26

By Billy Coss at TUS Gaelic Grounds

Tipperary’s bid to win a second All-Ireland Minor Hurling Championship in three seasons remained on track, but only after seeing off a heroic performance from 14-man Galway.

Kenneth Burke’s side played more than 50 minutes a man down following the late first half dismissal of defender Rhys O’Connor and battled to hold a two-point lead deep in extra-time.

But Tipperary would show impressive resolve and summoned a driving finish as points from Euan Murray, Killian Cantwell and match winner Cillian Minogue saw James Woodlock’s charges into a final against Kilkenny or Clare.

It was a titanic battle that saw the sides level at 0-12 at half-time, 0-20 to 1-17 at the end of normal time, and again at 0-24 to 1-21 at the interval in extra-time.

Galway appeared to have created vital breathing space when their campaign top scorer Brian Callanan sent over his 15th point, and sixth from play, of a terrific individual performance, but the Premier showed their staying power to edge an enthralling tussle with Minogue’s seventh point of a brilliant display decisive.

Galway ‘keeper Seán Kelly was another of the outstanding performers on view and his series of magnificent stops saved his side on several occasions.

Tipperary held a 0-6 to 0-4 lead after the opening quarter of normal time with inside forwards Stefan Tobin and Minogue extremely sharp.

Callanan, Cillian Roche and Ciarán Leen were Galway’s chief score getters as the young Tribesmen battled back to lead 0-12 to 0-11 lead into the wind.

Then came O’Connor’s straight red card after an off-the-ball incident, and when Eoghan Doughan, who scored eight points, levelled it up, it was a dozen points apiece at the break.

It remained nip-and-tuck through the third quarter before Tipperary looked to have struck a telling blow when the excellent Euan Murray netted the day’s only goal on 50 minutes for a 1-15 to 0-14 advantage to the Munster champions.

Galway refused to die, though, and showed their character to hit six of the game’s closing eight points with Callanan, Jonah Donnellan and sub Ronan Cahalan on target as it finished 0-20 to 1-17 at the end of normal time.

Callanan remained centre-stage in extra-time and his four points were cancelled out by Doughan (two), Minogue and Murray for Tipp as the stalemate continued at the change of ends.

Points from Cahalan and Callanan gave Galway a two-point lead and a strong position, but Tipperary would finish strongest with Minogue emerging the hero, tilting the balance in the 80th minute of an exhilarating contest.

Scorers for Tipperary: Eoghan Doughan 0-8 (6fs, 1 65), Cillian Minogue 0-7, Euan Murray 1-4, Stefan Tobin 0-3, Killian Cantwell and Jake Donelon Houlihan (f) 0-1 each.

Scorers for Galway: Brian Callanan 0-15 (9fs), Cillian Roche 0-3, Ronan Cahalan, Ciarán Leen and Jonah Donnellan (1f) 0-2, Eoghan Mulleady and Jamie Ryan 0-1 each.

Tipperary: Daire English; Patrick Ryan, Shane Ryan, Cathal O’Reilly (captain); Jake Donelan Houlihan, Owen O’Dwyer, David Ryan; Tiarnan Ryan, Billy O’Brien; Darragh O’Hora, Adam Ryan, Euan Murray; Eoghan Doughan, Stefan Tobin, Cillian Minogue.

Subs: Aaron Cagney for O’Hora (46), Paul Cummins for Adam Ryan (59), Killian Cantwell for O’Brien (60+3), Austin Duff for Cagney (69), Jack Cahill for Doughan (77), O’Brien for Tiarnan Ryan (77).

Galway: Seán Kelly; Cathal Maloney (captain), Dara Burke, Rhys O’Connor; Gavin Maher, Jonah Donnellan, Robert Burke; Ronan Murphy, Seán Moran; Ciarán Leen, Eoghan Mulleady, Jamie Ryan; Brian Callanan, Cillian Roche, Harry Holmes.

Subs: Ronan Cahalan for Ryan (46), Stephen Keane for Leen (52), Dara Zimmerer for Roche (55), Brendan Fox for Maher (60+3 mins), Leen for Holmes (68), Ryan for Murphy (76), Roche for Leen (80).

Referee: Chris Mooney (Dublin).