Ronan Glennon, Galway, and Tony Kelly and Ryan Taylor, Clare, in Allianz Hurling League action at Cusack Park. Photo by Ray McManus/Sportsfile

Allianz HL D1: Galway defeat Clare in Ennis

Allianz Hurling League Division One Group A

Galway 1-24 Clare 0-22

By Eoin Brennan at Cusack Park

Galway maintained their hold over neighbours Clare after a storming second half performance at Cusack Park, Ennis.

It was an outcome that couldn’t have been foreseen when the hosts raced out of the blocks to soar 0-8 to 0-1 clear after only 14 minutes thanks in the main to Aidan McCarthy (3) and David Reidy (2). However, there would be a total sea-change over the next 10 minutes as Galway brought back Conor Cooney as an extra midfielder and eventually slashed the areas to just the minimum as Evan Niland (3) and an inspirational Daithi Burke point helped revive the visitors challenge.

That margin would remain until the break at 0-12 to 0-11 but now backed by the slight conditions, Henry Shefflin’s side incrementally seized control on the restart.

Following a prolonged wrestle for supremacy that saw the sides level on four occasions by the 47th minute, Galway upped the ante for the final quarter, outscoring their neighbours by 1-9 to 0-7 including a decisive Conor Whelan goal in the 59th minute.

Conor Cooney produced a rousing second half display to complete a five point haul from play which would be enough to fend off an inevitable home backlash and ensure that the Banner’s search for a first derby victory since 2013 will have to wait until at least the summer.

Both sides are still in the hunt for the semi-finals with Clare requiring a victory over Cork and Galway needing a big win against Westmeath in order to advance.

Scorers for Galway: Evan Niland 0-9 (5fs, 1’65), Conor Cooney 0-5, Conor Whelan 1-0, Daithi Burke, Kevin Cooney, and Tom Monaghan 0-2 each, Ronan Glennon, Brian Concannon, Joseph Cooney, and Sean Linnane 0-1 each.

Scorers for Clare: Aidan McCarthy 0-7 (6fs), David Fitzgerald 0-4, David Reidy 0-3, Ian Galvin 0-2, Ryan Taylor, Cathal Malone, Peter Duggan, Cian Galvin, Robin Mounsey, and Seadna Morey 0-1 each.

Galway: Eanna Murphy; Jack Grealish, Gearoid McInerney, TJ Brennan; Padraic Mannion, Daithi Burke, Joseph Cooney; Ronan Glennon, Tom Monaghan; Conor Cooney, Brian Concannon, Cianan Fahy; Evan Niland, Conor Whelan, Kevin Cooney

Subs: Subs: Sean Linnane for Glennon (52), Tiernan Killeen for Burke (57), David Burke for Fahy (67), Declan McLoughlin for Concannon (69).

Clare: Eamonn Foudy; Adam Hogan, Conor Cleary, Paul Flanagan; Diarmuid Ryan, John Conlon, Cian Galvin; Cathal Malone, Tony Kelly; David Fitzgerald, Peter Duggan, Ryan Taylor; David Reidy, Aidan McCarthy, Davie Conroy

Subs: Brandon O’Connell for Ryan (44), Robin Mounsey for Conroy (45), Seadna Morey for Duggan (54), Ian Galvin for McCarthy (62), Aron Shanagher for Reidy (67).

Referee: Colm Lyons (Cork).