Allianz FL D1: Tierney inspires Galway

Allianz Football League Division One

Galway 0-16 Tyrone 0-13

By Cian O’Connell at Tuam Stadium

Ultimately this game was all about Matthew Tierney’s excellence and Galway’s efficiency in the second period.

Just when Tyrone started to pose serious questions during a lively spell, Galway were crafty enough to find the answers.

Tierney gathered a couple of critical kickouts, while also contributing a string of neat points as the Oughterard clubman helped to steer Galway to a vital victory.

It was a wild afternoon in the west with Galway backed by the strong wind in the opening period as Pádraic Joyce’s charges departed 0-7 to 0-3 ahead at the break.

That was chiefly due to splendid long range points from Tierney, Paul Conroy, and Jack Glynn for the home team, who enjoyed a decent burst following a tight opening quarter.

Early on Tierney and Darragh Canavan (free) traded points before Galway reeled off four points without reply.

Galway led 0-5 to 0-1 before Tyrone terminated a 17 minute search for a score courtesy of a sweet point from Cormac Quinn.

Again Tierney replied for Galway with Darren McCurry subsequently rifling over a point as the visitors’ were battling against the elements.

On the stroke of half-time, 2022 Young Footballer of the Year Jack Glynn ventured forward to land a gorgeous point for Galway, who were four ahead at the turnaround.

Within nine minutes of the restart, though, Tyrone had the gap trimmed down to the minimum following points from McShane and McCurry (two).

Suddenly the tempo quickened with Galway substitute Cathal Sweeney making an impact as Joyce’s outfit went 0-9 to 0-7 in front.

A 51st minute effort from McShane had Tyrone only a point behind, but then Galway seized control with Tierney prominent.

Ian Burke, Tierney (3), Seán Kelly, and Sweeney all mined points for Galway, who accumulated a 0-15 to 0-8 advantage with six minutes remaining.

Five of the last six points were registered by Tyrone, but Galway held on to secure the full complement of spoils.

Scorers for Galway: Matthew Tierney 0-6 (3fs), Cathal Sweeney and Paul Conroy (2fs) 0-3 each,Seán Kelly, Ian Burke, Jack Glynn, and Peter Cooke 0-1 each.

Scorers for Tyrone: Darren McCurry 0-4 (2fs), Cathal McShane (1m) and Darragh Canavan (2fs) 0-2 each, Cormac Quinn, Cormac Munroe, Peter Harte, Pádraig Hampsey, and Richie Donnelly 0-1 each.

Galway: Connor Gleeson; Jack Glynn, Eoghan Kelly, Seán Kelly; Dylan McHugh, John Daly, Daniel O’Flaherty; Paul Conroy, Cillian McDaid; Peter Cooke, Matthew Tierney, Johnny Heaney; Patrick Kelly, Ian Burke, Eoin Finnerty.

Subs: Johnny McGrath for O’Flaherty (HT), Cathal Sweeney for E Finnerty (HT), John Maher for P Kelly (69), Rob Finnerty for McDaid (70).

Tyrone: Niall Morgan; Cormac Munroe, Michael McKernan, Pádraig Hampsey; Cormac Quinn, Peter Harte, Niall Devlin; Brian Kennedy, Frank Burns; Conor Meyler, Conn Kilpatrick, Niall Sludden; Darren McCurry, Cathal McShane, Darragh Canavan.

Subs: Joe Oguz for Devlin (50), Ruairí Canavan for Sludden (55), Richie Donnelly for Quinn (58), Mattie Donnelly for Burns (63).

Referee: Brendan Cawley (Kildare).