AIB GAA Club Players Awards 2023/24

The players selected for this year’s AIB GAA Club Players Awards have been announced with All-Ireland champions Glen and St Thomas’ leading the way on the football and hurling teams of the year.

In football, Watty Graham’s of Glen have been honoured with six places on the final 15. Michael Warnock takes his second successive award in defence and is joined by Ryan Dougan and Ciarán McFaul. Their twin towers of Conor Glass and Emmett Bradley are the midfield anchor with the versatile Eunan Mulholland named in the half forward line.

After winning Connacht and then coming so close in the All-Ireland final, St Brigid’s are also well represented with Brian Stack, Pearse Frost and Ruaidhrí Fallon bolstering the defence and livewire Ben O’Carroll in a star-studded attack.

Darragh Kirwan’s prolific run of form in attack for Naas is recognised and so too, is Cork star Brian Hurley for his role with Castlehaven in Munster. Kilmacud Crokes’ lethal pairing of Paul Mannion and Shane Walsh also headline in the team.

American Football goal kicking hopeful Rory Beggan has been named in goal after his hugely influential role for Scotstown in their march to the Ulster final.

In hurling, the Burkes and Cooneys of St Thomas’ backbone the team after their All-Ireland final triumph with the Connacht club also taking six slots.

The Galway champions have Gerald Kelly honoured in goal after his expert guardianship of the St Thomas’ net. Fintan Burke is full back after his towering displays while the influential Shane Cooney is named wing back. Ever-green star David Burke is in midfield while shining lights of the attack Conor Cooney and Éanna Burke are centre and full forward respectively.

Leinster champions and All-Ireland finalists O’Loughlin Gaels are well represented with Huw Lawlor a unanimous choice in the full back line and David Fogarty and Paddy Deegan in front of him after their impressive seasons and Mark Bergin rewarded for his stellar form in attack.

Munster champions Ballygunner are represented with Dessie Hutchinson winning his third Club Player Award since 2020 with Paddy Leavey honoured for the second year in a row in midfield and Peter Hogan deservedly joining them. The team is completed by the presence of inspirational Cushendall players Paddy Burke at corner back and Neil McManus at top of the left.

The players will be honoured at a special function at Croke Park this Friday, where they will be presented with their awards by Uachtarán CLG Jarlath Burns.

Also announced on the night will be the overall AIB GAA Club Footballer and Hurler of the Year. St Brigid’s star forward Ben O’Carroll, Kilmacud Crokes sharpshooter Shane Walsh and Watty Graham’s inspirational midfielder Conor Glass are the nominees for the football prize.

In hurling, O’Loughin Gaels’ pillars David Fogarty and Paddy Deegan are shortlisted after they spearheaded the Kilkenny champions drive for Croke Park and alongside them is St Thomas’ hero David Burke who was prolific when he was needed most.

Uachtarán CLG Jarlath Burns said: “I want to congratulate all the players who have been selected for an AIB GAA Club Players Award. The high calibre of the teams is a reflection of what was another outstanding campaign.

“The club championship is like a Holy Grail at county level, then for a special few there is a shot at provincial success and if you are fortunate enough, the chance for All-Ireland history. Year after year this pursuit of glory by clubs and their communities produces fantastic competition that leaves us enthralled. I want to acknowledge the support of our partners in AIB for their assistance in sustaining this great success story for the GAA.”

Congratulating the winners, Mark Doyle, Chief Marketing Officer for AIB, said: “The AIB GAA Club Player Awards celebrate the incredible feats achieved by club players across Ireland and on behalf of everyone at AIB, we extend our heartfelt congratulations to all the players being honoured with a place on the team of the year. The tremendous effort and resolve to achieve success with your clubs epitomises everything that is special about the AIB GAA Club Championships. A huge congratulations to all 30 players featuring on the AIB Club Teams of the Year who have so proudly represented their communities and clubs this season. AIB is proud to be able to honour these fantastic athletes and we look forward to another season supporting the Club Championships in 2024.”

The awards were selected by a panel of Gaelic Games correspondents from across print, broadcast and digital media. The AIB GAA Club Players Awards have been held annually since 2018.

Each season, the AIB GAA All-Ireland Club Championships feature some of #TheToughest players from communities nationwide. With the partnership now in its 33rd year, AIB is proud to once again celebrate the people and wider communities that play such a pivotal role in sustaining the culture, entertainment and passion of our national games.

St Thomas' David Burke is named on the AIB Club Hurling Team of the Year. Photo by Ramsey Cardy/Sportsfile

St Thomas’ David Burke is named on the AIB Club Hurling Team of the Year. Photo by Ramsey Cardy/Sportsfile



  1. Rory Beggan (Scotstown)
  2. Ryan Dougan (Watty Grahams, Glen)
  3. Brian Stack (St Brigid’s)
  4. Pearse Frost (St Brigid’s)
  5. Ruaidhrí Fallon (St Brigid’s)
  6. Ciaran McFaul (Watty Graham’s, Glen)
  7. Michael Warnock (Watty Graham’s, Glen)
  8. Conor Glass (Watty Graham’s, Glen)
  9. Emmett Bradley (Watty Graham’s, Glen)
  10. Eunan Mulholland (Watty Graham’s, Glen)
  11. Paul Mannion (Kilmacud Crokes)
  12. Shane Walsh (Kilmacud Crokes)
  13. Ben O’Carroll (St Brigid’s)
  14. Darragh Kirwan (Naas)
  15. Brian Hurley (Castlehaven)


Conor Glass

Ben O’Carroll

Shane Walsh


  1. Gerald Kelly (St Thomas’)
  2. Paddy Burke (Ruairí Óg, Cushendall)
  3. Fintan Burke (St Thomas’)
  4. Huw Lawlor (O’Loughlin Gaels)
  5. David Fogarty (O’Loughlin Gaels)
  6. Paddy Deegan (O’Loughlin Gaels)
  7. Shane Cooney (St Thomas’)
  8. David Burke (St Thomas’)
  9. Paddy Leavey (Ballygunner)
  10. Mark Bergin (O’Loughlin Gaels)
  11. Conor Cooney (St Thomas’)
  12. Peter Hogan (Ballygunner)
  13. Dessie Hutchinson (Ballygunner)
  14. Éanna Burke (St Thomas’)
  15. Neil McManus (Ruairí Óg, Cushendall)


Paddy Deegan

David Burke

David Fogarty