The Galway U21 hurling team which drew with Tipperary in the All-Ireland final of 1978 before winning the replay at the Gaelic Grounds. Back row, left to right: Conor Hayes, Mattie Conneely, Michael Earls, Michael Kilkenny, John Goode, Gerry Smith, Joe Greaney, Steve Mahon. Front row, Michael Headd, Gerry Linnane, Pascal Ryan, Bernie Forde, Seamus Coen, PJ Burke and John Ryan.

Reeling in the Years…

Students were master footballers in 1973 (by Jim Carney Tuam Herald)
Gaelic Football history was made in 1973 when a Combined Universities team won the high-prestige Railway Cup competition, defeating Connacht in the final (replay) at Athlone by 4-9 to 0-12 . The West was strongly represented, with Joe Waldron of Galway, Tony Regan of Roscommon and Donegal born Martin Carney, later to star for Mayo, in the starting XV with John P. Kean and Tommy O’Malley (Mayo) and John Tobin (Galway in the panel. (Jim Carney Team Herald)


RAILWAY CUP football champions, 1973, pictured at Croke Park on the day of the drawn final. In front, from left: Tony Regan, brothers Brendan and Paudie Lynch, John Rainey, Anthony McGurk, Paddy Moriarty. At back, from left: Joe Waldron, Cyril Hughes, Donal Kavanagh, Gerry McHugh, Dave McCarthy (UCC), Noel Murphy (goalkeeper), Séamus Killough, John O’Keeffe, Kevin Kilmurray. Team management: Paddy O’Hara (manager), Eugene McGee (UCD), Jimmy Beggs (Queen’s), Séamus Condon (UCC), Pat Doherty (Trinity)