Ballgar Under 16 players celebrating their first ever County Under 16A Hurling Title victory at Duggan Park Ballinasloe. Under the guidance of team manager Tom Thomas and Brian Healy this was a fitting reward for the dedication and perseverance of club officials and mentors over many years. Inspired by their captain and man-of-the-match Simon Thomas they recorded a 1-12 to 0-14 win over Clarinbridge and claimed a historic success. (Photo: Mike O'Hehir)


Players, from left, James McInerney, Clare, Brendan Cummins, Tipperary, Colm Callanan, Galway and Darren Renehan, Dublin, in attendance at the launch of the M. Donnelly GAA All-Ireland Poc Fada at Croke Park in Dublin.


Three Sets of twins on Galway Football Panel
Celebrating their Connacht Championship success in the Galway dressingroom are the Kyne, Varley and Sweeney twins

Tickets are on sale for the GAA All Ireland Hurling Quarter Finals in Semple Stadium. They are on sale via usual channels - & Centra / SuperValu.

Waterford will play Wexford at 2pm
Galway will play Clare at 4pm

Ticket prices and details as follows:

O Riain Stand & O Coinneain Stand- Reserved Seating
Adults €30
Juveniles €5
Students / OAP concession available on day with valid ID (€10 rebate)

Terrace- Killanan & Town End
Adults €20
Juveniles €5
No concessions

Patrons are encouraged to purchase tickets in advance.



Paul Conroy of Galway and Austin Gleeson of Waterford with their GAA/GPA Opel Players of the Month Awards for June


  • VIDEO: Clare's rise continues
    Manager Colm Collins and his son Podge reflect on a "fantastic day" for Clare football after the county reached the All-Ireland quarter-final.
  • Conor Sweeney hails Tipperary 'bottle'
    Conor Sweeney hailed Tipperary's "bottle" after their memorable All-Ireland SFC qualifier victory against Derry on Saturday, and insisted he knew his team-mates would not falter in their quarter-final quest.
  • At a glance: Championship Sunday
    Semple Stadium is the venue as Wexford, Waterford, Clare and Galway all look for to advance to the last four of the All-Ireland SHC.
  • Waterford ladies see off Armagh for Kerry clash
    Aileen Wall scored 2-4 from play as Waterford knocked Armagh out of the TG4 All-Ireland Ladies' Senior Football Championship today.
  • GAA digest: Collins on double duty for Clare
    Podge Collins is back on duty for the Banner a mere 24 hours after helping the county's footballers beat Roscommon in Salthill as the Cratloe man is included in Clare's hurling side to face Galway.
  • Tipperary set up clash with Galway
    Tipperary qualified for their first All-Ireland SFC quarter-final with a 1-21 to 2-17 victory over Derry at Kingspan Breffni Park.
  • Clare march on after easing past the Rossies
    First-half goals from David Tubridy and Jamie Malone saw Clare through to an All-Ireland football quarter-final for the first time after a convincing 2-12 to 1-09 win over Roscommon at Pearse Stadium.
  • Tipp and Clare earn places in Croker double-header
    Clare and Tipperary will take part in a mouthwatering Croke Park double-header next Sunday, 31 July, after memorable All-Ireland SFC qualifier victories sent them in to the quarter-finals.